What's new

A Slanted Vision?

According to Classic Shaving... the Vision 2000 has a slant on the blade...

The razor is manufactured with a slight slant bar effect; this slant creates tension and delivers a closer more aggressive shave than other adjustable Merkur Razors.

Really? I didn't realize that. I'm assuming it's not nearly as large a slant as the official slant bar, but is at least there and it's not straight.

This seems to be true. It's an open question if this is deliberate or caused by a warped casting mould.

One side-effect of this is the door assembly can only be put on one way, and it's not easy to tell if it's the right way until it's on and tightened down.

I studied my Vision last night and I see absolutely no indication of any of the aforementioned "slant". Nor do I see that the door mechanism is particular to one side of the razor or another. In fact, I purposefully turned the doors and rod mechanism 180-degrees and shaved with it this morning in that configuration. No change in acceleration, braking or handling. She drives the same.

Based on all that, I think the "slant" claim is a bit unfounded.

Your milage may vary,

R.

This is rich. What a load of BS. This is because so many people are complaining that their Visions are defective and want to return them. Now they (or Merkur) can say it is a "feature." There is nothing in the design that indicates it should be slanted, it is just a bad design. I would like Classic and Merkur to explain why some Visions are slanted and others are not.

This reminds me of my beloved slim adjustable slant that I won off of ebay.

full

Very Rare

Last edited by a moderator: