What's new

Thoughts on tallow based soaps vs non-tallow soaps

I am fairly new to shaving with a soap, but I think I have noticed a difference between tallow soaps (PdP, Cade, etc) and non-tallow based soaps (Mama Bear).

To me, the tallow soaps seems richer and generate a better lather. I think they provide a slicker lather too. I like the Mama Bear soaps (especially the scents) but the lather just seems not as nice.

Is this a case of YMMV or do others agree?

I am fairly new to shaving with a soap, but I think I have noticed a difference between tallow soaps (PdP, Cade, etc) and non-tallow based soaps (Mama Bear).

To me, the tallow soaps seems richer and generate a better lather. I think they provide a slicker lather too. I like the Mama Bear soaps (especially the scents) but the lather just seems not as nice.

Tallow soaps do produce a little thicker lather than glycerin soaps. The French based shea butter soaps imo produce comparable tallow lather.

However thicker lather does not necessarily translate to a better shave. Keep experimenting and try creams.

Tallow soaps do produce a little thicker lather than glycerin soaps. However thicker lather does not necessarily translate to a better shave. Keep experimenting.

I'll second that. IMHO I do agree that Tallow base soaps offer up a greater quantity of lather. In fact when I use Tallow based soaps I actually tend to use less product because you get such a thick lather. Perhaps one of the hidden perks of tallow.

Tallow = superior lather. Glycerin = acceptable lather (often compensated for by being more highly scented). I use both.