What's new

Checking In - Preparing for first DE shave

New newbie checking in from Christchurch, New Zealand (although I'm a Brit really).

I've been bluffing my way with wet shaving for about ten years, using a Mach 3 and never having a good time of it (particularly on my neck). Wet shaving was a huge advance on electric shavers though, which just seemed to chew my face. My dad has always been bearded, not to mention uncommunicative, so no-one ever told me how to do things. I experimented with canned goo (which left my neck enormously dry), shaving oil (pretty good, but hard to wash out of a cartridge razor between strokes) and eventually settled on King of Shaves gel and Nivea aftershave lotion.

Things got worse after I was briefly hospitalised last year (with viral meningitis), and emerged from my recovery with a full beard, for the first time in my life. After shaving this off, I found that all my beard hairs were now "in-sync", resulting in far more noticable stubble growth and necessitating more frequent shaving.

However, since discovering B&B about a fortnight ago, things have improved a lot - I've picked up some Crabtree & Evelyn Nomad soap and a Vulfix #1 Best Bristle (quite stiff boar, although it's softening nicely), and have been using the barbershop prep technique. My most recent shave was pretty spectacular - barbershop prep (lying in the bath with hot towels on the face - bliss), then three passes (WTG, XTG, ATG) with the Mach 3. I don't think my face has been that smooth since I was twelve :biggrin: It's about 72 hours old now, and it's still better than twelve hours later using the old system.