What's new

What a difference a brush makes

Sooooo as a newbie I was a little skeptical about the importance of a good brush but I found out today that it makes a huge difference. I started out with a small starter kit brush I purchased at AOS and just upgraded to the C&E BBB after reading numerous threads and posts about it (and it was readily available at the mall). It is a great brush, and now I might even entertain investing in one of the top of line brushes due to the improvement in my shave this morning. It retains heat really well which is the main reason I was so happy with it.

2 months ago - I would have said one word "hogwash".

Now after owning the Rooney and Simpson Chubby 1 and 2 - I would say - "right on".

People don't realize how important a good brush is when it comes to whipping up good lather...

One can always chalk it to experience but i found that with my skill I got *better* lather with *less* effort when i upgraded my brushes.
My older brush was a whippeddog with the loft set too low. It has the backbone but it is *choked* and quite a lather hoag. With Mike's soap my vie long horse brush enables me to get better slicker lather. With dr harris cream, my duke2 works better.
I had a WD with the loft too high, it was floppy a bit but did produce a ton of lather quickly.
So on top of quality hair, there are a few very important factors that optimise the performance of a brush. It is not rocket science but you need some experience if you spec it yourself or just let the folks that have been doing it for a long time do it for you.

congrats pal. always a great feeling.