What's new

Choosing my 2nd brush

Hi all,

I need some advice about choosing my 2nd brush. I have been shaving with a DE and a badger hair brush for about 5 months now. I started off getting a few soaps and a few creams but now I am using my soaps more and would like a new brush that's better suited to soaps.

My current brush is a Edwin Jagger Medium Super Badger, which, from what I have read, is quite a floppy brush. When I lather my soaps up it seems as if it's quite hard work. On the plus side however, I really love the soft, floppy feeling of this brush against my face.

Any suggestions on a more suitable brush for me with to use with soaps that feels soft against my face yet still produces a good lather?

Thanks,
Jason

I use my Savile Row 3824 for both soaps and creams and I love it. I would recommend it without hesitation.:smile:

You don't mention a price. If you're willing to spend, try to find a 2008 LE in the B/S/T. Just an outstanding (and luxuriously soft) brush for soaps. A recommendation for a bit less coin would be a 21mm shavemac in finest or better. Enjoy SBAD!

I enjoy daily a Shavemac 585 (Retro) Silvertip D01 (Specs: 22 mm knott & 50 mm loft). It is heavenly. It has the potential to extinguish any further SBAD impulses. It literally made me become a face latherer using soaps 95 % of the time moving from a cream - bowl latherer mopping with a Vulfix 2233 :001_smile

Last edited:
The Rooney 3/1 is the perfect soap brush, and soap and cream, and comfort and value. Check the reviews, you'll see how highly rated it is.

Thanks for taking the time to reply gents.

I'm trying very hard to avoid SBAD as they're so expensive! .... and I'm getting married in 2 weeks time so I'm sure my better half will have something to say about my various RADs (Random Acquisition Disorders)! LOL!

Not certain about budget but I don't really want to spend more than £100 or about $150US.