What's new

The difference between DE and Mach3

Hi folks,

I've been shaving with a DE for a few months now. I thought I might be getting a marginally better shave, but mainly I stayed with it because it's relaxing and makes my skin feel better.

Last week, however, I took a quick trip to Prague with the girlfriend. It was my first time away in months, and we were just taking cabin baggage for a few days- so no razor blades allowed. I was forced to take the old Mach3 with a fresh cartridge and some shaving oil- but hey, I didn't think about it too much, it was only for a few days.

Wow. Not only was shaving the way I had done for years a truly horrible experience, I wasn't sure I had actually shaved at all. Raw, painful skin was accompanied by pretty severe stubble, and it's not just in my head- the missus noticed too. It was so poor, in fact, that I only shaved twice in five days (and I'm a daily shaving guy).

My point here is that I hadn't realised the phenomenal difference my new routine was making until I switched suddenly, and without warning, back to my old ways.

And another point of interest: I'm shaving DE at the extreme budget level. I'm a student with no income, so I picked up a €5 Wilkinson Sword plastic razor, and a €14 Men-u synthetic brush from Boots. After I failed to cut myself into pieces, I ordered Tabac soap and blade samplers from ......... Shaving ( a great buy). Total cost for the last 5 months shaving? About €30. And the Tabac will last a good bit more.

So, this realisation that all the talk and enthusiasm on these boards (in which I've been lurking for a while-this is my first post) was really genuine, and that even at the lowest level, the results are stellar (even if you don't realise it!) prompted me to post- and to advise others to bring the razor blade-less when travelling, and pop into a pharmacy once you arrive at your destination.