What's new

Final mock-up of homemade brush

Here's the final design for my 28mm GoldenNib Silver Tip:

proxy.php

This is English walnut with an oil finish.

The actual one will be made tomorrow (hopefully!) so I'll put some pics up over the weekend :biggrin:

Chris

Awfully Pretty.

I'm assuming you turned it on a lathe, my question is (as a complete newb to woodworking) do you drill the knot socket before or after turning?

Also, I've read that Superglue is one of the most popular waterproof finishes for wood. Is that what you plan to use?

Awfully Pretty.

I'm assuming you turned it on a lathe, my question is (as a complete newb to woodworking) do you drill the knot socket before or after turning?

Also, I've read that Superglue is one of the most popular waterproof finishes for wood. Is that what you plan to use?

Well this is a long story, but I'll try to make it simple!

It's my father's lathe and he's got all sorts of chucks and bits, but we've found the easiest way is by turning an extra 2" of wood at the base of the brush, then mounting this in a chuck made for holding a dowel, then using a drill chuck on the other end of the lathe - I'll try to take a couple of photos over the weekend.

Needless to say I'm sure there's an easier way to do this, but it's worked for us and it uses the parts we've got available!

The final finish will be superglue - this was a test on some walnut I just recieved.

Chris

Very handsome. Visually the English Walnut exudes warmth and masculinity.
Do the pics, please and very nicely executed!

Beautiful work!

BTW - that is the exact same process I use for making a handle. A drill chuck in the tail stock and a forstner bit is the easiest way I've found to drill the hole.

It looks great. Is it difficult making handles?

Not once you have the right parts for the lathe! In reality it's not too difficult if you know how to work wood anyway, and have an eye for carving/shaping.

Beautiful work!