What's new

St Patty's in Houston

What are my fellow Houstonians doing this St. Patty's day? This is my first time to be here for that in Houston, and it will be my first time ever being 21 during St. Patty's day.

I've heard that the Mucky Duck Pub takes it very seriously, and that's right behind where I work. I wanna know what's going on so I can have some options. I will be taking the following day off :biggrin:

My real name is O'Neil, I'm at least a fourth Irish, that's good enough for me.

What are the reat of B&B members plans for this day?

Sorry man. St. Paddy's is amateur night. I stay in.

Mucky Duck will have an enormous crowd and a very large cover charge. They were named one of the top 10 places for green beer or something.

The Harp (a bit further down Richmond) will be busy but probably not so insane you can't have a good time. Maybe have a cover.

McElroy's(Sandman and Richmond across from Stag's Head) should be busy but not have a cover.

I would stay the hell out of Rice Village's pubs since that's a vortex of yuppie hell during holidays.

Shay McElroy's (downtown) might be fine... hard to say.

Molly's pub (also downtown) is a crime against humanity and good taste. It is a faux Irish pub that was purchased as a package, decor and all, from Ireland and is about as realistic of an Irish pub as a Bennigan's. Cover. Packed. Etc.

There are tons of other places (Keneally's for example) that you can try but if it bears any resemblance to an Irish pub it will be expensive and really crowded.

That's the news from Lake Wobegon, my hometown...

//Sorry if I sound more crochety than usual. As a former bouncer in a pub, St. Paddy's is my personal idea of hell :tongue_sm

I always feel sorry for the Americans having to wait till they're 21 to drink. You should be allowed to drink at 18 and to drive at 21 so you have three years experience. It'd probably cut down on traffic accidents quite a bit. :biggrin: