What's new

Proper rotation technique

I have a shave stand that holds 3 razors. So i pick out 3 that I want to try, load them up put them in the stand and rotate everyday. Here is the problem. I leave the blades in the razor and after several days the blades look terrible. I'm a newbie so I might be making a mistake.
1. Do you leave the blades in the razor...yes I clean afteer each use.
2. Should I only pick 1 razor at a time until the blade needs changed, then move on to the next in the rotation?
3. Other....?

Last edited:
I have a shave stand that holds 3 razors. So i pick out 3 that I want to try, load them up put them in the stand and rotate everyday. Here is the problem. I leave the blades in the razor and after several days the blades look terrible. I'm a newbie so I might be making a mistake.
1. Do you leave the blades in the razor...yes I clean afteer each use.
2. Should I only pick 1 razor at a time until the blade needs changed, then move on to the next in the rotation?
3. Other....?

I'm sure you'll get many replies and advice better than mine.

I used to use a razor for four shaves, toss the blade, clean it, and move to the next one. I would keep the blade in the razor until after the fourth shave. It worked fine for me. However, I now have too many razors for that pattern.

I'm thinking about either one shave per razor and transferring the blade (I started a thread asking about this) or doing only two shaves, tossing the blade, cleaning the razor, and moving on. Otherwise, I don't think I'll be able to keep track of how many shaves are on each blade.

Don't worry, you'll be in the same boat soon as your razor count increases.

Your stand only holds three razors? My first one holds only four, so I had to get a second one. Now I'm thinking about getting a test-tube holder so I can hold more razors. Damn! Nobody told me it was going to get this complicated.

I'm sure you will find what works best for you.

Good Luck,