What's new

Am I on my way to becoming a lush?

Guys, I never touched beer until my 21st birthday, upon which I was taken to Tiger Town Tavern for the obligatory shirt and shots. I had quite a bit of beer and liquor that night and finally figured out what it was like to be drunk.

I imbibed throughout college, mostly beer. I loved the stuff - different varieties, seasonals, et cetera. I got sloshed rarely, preferring the means rather than the ends.

In grad school and now as a working guy, though, I discovered that beer is really too much. I can't make the commitment to drinking a whole bottle all the time. It upsets my indigestion. I had a bad experience once with a daiquiri and swore off liquor, but in the past several months, I've really been turned on to the stuff. Gin and bourbon are my two preferences right now, although I'm still learning about the varieties and what I like.

I find myself eager to stock up on liquor supplies and make my own confused beverages (ok, mixed drinks). Today I bought some vermouth on the way home from work and mixed myself a Manhattan as soon as I walked in the door. I've been drinking cocktails a lot lately...either at home or at a local bar with a pool cue in my hand. Frankly, it's delicious and fun. I don't like getting "buzzed" when I overdo it, so I can't say that I'm drinking for the wrong reasons...but dammit, I love cocktails.

Is it possible to be a drunk without drinking to get drunk?

I don't think you are becoming a drunk just for the reason that you are aware of what you are doing.

Do you need to drink to function properly?
probably not

Is drinking effecting your work or relationships?
probably not

I mean its not like you are knocking off a 12 pack everyday afterwork.

Sounds like you just enjoy cocktails. Welcome to the club! I love me a crown and coke! I like a little buzz.

DL