What's new

Merkur Futur: What metal is the handle?

Newbie here. My question is the metal used in the handle. The threads and 'business' end or the Merkur Futur handle is brass, but there is another metal over the brass.

And I do not mean the plating. Under the plating. It's very soft, so its not SS.
But its heavy and silver in color.

Does anyone know for sure?

I'm not 100% sure, but I am thinking Zamak.
That is a zinc, aluminum, magnesium and copper alloy. It was developed in Germany, but now it is a common casting metal.

I'm not 100% sure, but I am thinking Zamak.
That is a zinc, aluminum, magnesium and copper alloy. It was developed in Germany, but now it is a common casting metal.

That could be it. I found the handle to be a bit too smooth for my taste so a machined a number of grooves that make it much easier to hold with wet hands. I was expecting the handle to be nickel plated brass, but it was not.
Thank you.

Yes, Cooncat is right. Zamak is a sort of pot metal. It's really not all that bad though.
In my work I have to do layout inspections and testing on various cast housings.
A lot depends on how carefully they were cast and the variant of the pot metal used.
If they were machined out of stainless or A2 or something the cost would be much higher, and the actual fitness for use might not be all that much better.
The nickel plated brass razors they made "back in the day" sure were nice though.

I don't know what it is, but the weight make it feel like it is made out of lead. Maybe that is due to it being a solid handle (i assume).

I took mine apart about a year ago, to put some good PTFE grease on the adjustment threads. I seem to remember that it had a steel insert, a brass bushing, and a big ole beefy spring in there.