What's new

Fighting with my Slim

I just got my Slim this week. Popped a Feather in it and started shaving. Well, 4 passes later, and the shave sucked. I may as well have used a butter knife with shaving goo. Three shaves later, and I can't get a close shave in the (1) position.

I have been shaving with an HD successfully for 2 months now. Do I need to get used to the Slim, could the adjustments be broken, or will we probably never get along?

Position 1 is pretty mild.
Butter knife mild.

Try cranking it up to at least 3.

I can get a DFS with mine on 2, but 5-6 is pure bliss. YMMV

The angle of the head on the HD and slim are different. You might need to learn to adjust to your new razor. Give it a few more tries (possibly start with the 3 setting).

I'm no expert on this and new to this game myself but I have been using the
slim for a bit and noticed at the the low setting it was always a struggle
to get a close shave. I gradually went higher on the settings found the shaves
were getting much better. Just be careful, you really notice the difference in blade exposure.
Be patient and take real short strokes. Hope it works.

For me personally I have retired my slim. I cant get a decent shave out of it on any setting. My Fat Boy on the other hand, well 9 is a wonderful thing.

The angle of the head on the HD and slim are different. You might need to learn to adjust to your new razor. Give it a few more tries (possibly start with the 3 setting).

+1 I think that the angle of the blade is the problem. There are subtle differences in various razor heads (especially between manufacturers) and it is likely that your blade angle was just off a little.

Crank it up...you'll know when youv'e gone too far your face will tell as you'll feel it the next day. After shaving with an adjustable for a couple of months I've gone from +3 to a +7. i only go back down the scale for touching up.