What's new

Help with building lather

I'm using a badger brush and mitchells wool fat soap.

I am seriously struggling to build a good lather.

Current process is, wet the brush and shake it a few times. Then go over to the soap, lightly swirl the soap a few times, and then go into a separate bowl that has a little warm water in, and start swirling.

Even when I get to 3 - 4 mins I struggle to have a decent / enough lather going.

Any tips?

I'm still new to this as well and if there's one thing I learned really quick (and that the pro's will tell you) is that if you are having problems building a good lather, you're probably not loading your brush with enough soap.

Make sure to read the lathering tutorial SEVERAL times and I think your problems will be solved. I'd especially focus on putting the recommended 1tsp of water on your soap and let that soften it up before you load your brush, that made a world of difference to me.

Current process is, wet the brush and shake it a few times. Then go over to the soap, lightly swirl the soap a few times, and then go into a separate bowl that has a little warm water in, and start swirling.
Your problems are twofold: way too little soap in the brush, and too much water in the bowl. You're shaving with soap bubbles instead of lather.
  1. Swirl on the soap for at least half a minute (perhaps even a minute), occasionally 'pumping' it up and down to soak up the suds into the brush. Ignore the outcries that this eats up your soap. Soaps are meant to be used, not to be conserved.
  2. Leave out the water in the bowl, just start building, moving lots of air through the concentrated soap mix---add little drips of water if you get the feeling the lather doesn't change in consistency and volume any more, and keep on doing that until you reach the lather you want to shave with.

Good luck!

Good advice above. Sounds like you're not loading the brush enough.