What's new

Soap scum on my Merkur

So I'm new to this DE shaving. I've noticed a white film on my razor. It scratches off.

I'm assuming it's some kind of soap scum type thing. What is the standard practice here? Scrub it down once a week? Can it build-up and harm my razor?

it won't harm anything, but it does look ugly.

when i change out blades every couple of days, i give my razors a shot of scrubbing bubbles. takes the dried soap off quickly and makes everything shiny again...

If you don't have any scrubbing bubbles, try soaking the razor in hot tap water for a few minutes and then use some soft/dish soap and an old toothbrush to clean it up.

Rubbing alcohol on a cotton ball works great also. Each blade change, and a quick buff with a terry cloth towel, good to go.

Cleaning at a blade change is easiest. All I use is a toothbrush and running water. Sometimes I get lazy and don't clean it for a while, but it looks just as shiny each time regardless of how long between cleanings I give it.

Any soap scum removal spray would work, we happen to have scrubbing bubbles as someone has already suggested, works pretty good. I get in there and hit it with an old tooth brush as well. I have a 38C and it looks like new...

I just use an old toothbrush, some hot water and some bar soap. Cleans it off really easily. That said, I usually leave it on, as it doesn't bother me.

Every couple of days, if I have the time, I go through the following routine:

1) Disassemble the the razor. Carefully put the blade, flat, on top of something so that I don't damage the edge and I can easily pick it up again.

2) Fill a sink with warm water - and a couple drops of antibacterial liquid hand soap.

3) Gently scrub all three components with a warm sudsy water and a small nail brush.

4) Rinse in clear warm water and polish dry with a towel.

5) Reassemble the razor. Note: I make no attempt to clean the blade itself. Doing so seems pretty pointless and overly hazardous.