What's new

Right/ Left Handed

I Am New to B&B ... @ this Point Am I Shaving using a Gillette Mach 3 & Art of Shaving Preshave, Cream, & Pure Badger Brush ( Waiting for a DE & New Preshave, Cream, Bowl, Blades, Postshave, & Best or Super Badger Brush ) ... Tried New Techniques & Such ToDay after Reading many past threads ... ...

To My Question ... I Am Right Handed & Use only My Right Hand when Shaving ... I Have Noticed that the Left Hand Side of My Neck & Area Near My Cheek across from the Corner of My Mouth are the most Irritated ( Rash & InGrown Hairs ) from/after Shaving ... Would using My Left Hand for Shaving the Left Side of My Face Help, & Do I Need to use My Left Hand for Left Side & Right Hand for Right Side with a DE ... ??? ...

I am right handed and shave only with my right hand. New straight razor users are recommended to learn to shave with their opposite hand while everything still feels new and awkward, although many shave with their dominant hand solely. Food for thought.

Dennis

Hi Tribe...and welcome!

I am right handed and only shave with my right hand. It might help you to pay close attention to blade angle and movement while you're shaving the right side of your face (since that is where you're currently getting your best shave), and try to duplicate the same angle and movements when you cross over to your left side.

When I first started shaving with a DE, I had the opposite experience as you, i.e., I was getting better shaves on the opposite side as my hand. But after paying close attention to everything I was doing, I am now able to achieve great results on both sides using just my right hand. :smile:

Tribe,

I am right-handed and switch the razor to the left hand for shaving part of my neck. (Because I use my right hand to pull the skin on the neck tight, and it´s less awkward this way than the other way.)