What's new

Cooks?

So...I'm not sure if another thread exists about this, but I was wondering if there were any other professional cooks/chefs out there? The next question, being a razor forum and all, is "what is your blade of choice?". I love my Globals in my roll and my Henckels at home. What do you like?

Most of my pro chef buddies keep globals in their rolls. I use henckels at home.

Shuns seem to pretty popular home choices as well.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Someone told me one day: A cook does everything a chef doesn't want to do.

I guess I'm a cook...

Henkel is my first choice, I got the main chef knife, medium knife and veggie knife. I must add that Henkel customer support is awesome! I sent them an email a couple months ago for something (one to Henkel Canada, where the knives where bought, one to Henkel Australia, where I live), both came back within 24 hours. Awesome! I have those knives for the past 6-7 years, great knives!!

I'm an amateur cook at best. I got into cooking for myself during college just because it was cheaper than eating out and it brought a sense of enjoyment.

I know very little about knives and such, but what are your opinions on santoku knives?

At work I use
Misono UX10, 240 MM gyuto or chefs knife.
Hattori FK, 210 gyuto
Tojiro DP, petty or pairing knife. I forget the exact blade length, I think its 130 mm
I have other knives in my roll but these are the ones that get used.
For prep the Misono gets used the most. I am in the market for something to replace it, something in the 270 mm range. I have been looking at this for quite some time. The reviews are pretty good.
http://www.epicureanedge.com/shopexd.asp?id=85678
Its western handled brother also looks pretty nice, but I have read that the blade is thicker then on the traditional handled Yoshikane
http://www.epicureanedge.com/shopexd.asp?id=86482

My chef frequently borrows my knife or sometimes he will just take over my prep station.