What's new

holding the Str8?

I have read Joel's sticky on str8's. I have a question on the holding method. I have tried to hold the razor as Joel describes, pic here aprox:
proxy.php

Problem is on my first try I am having troulbe seeing the blade holding with this method. I then tried this orientation:
proxy.php

And seems that I can see the blade better as I cut. Any comments? I am totally new to this and yes I realize this is not a str8, but all I have right now.
Mark

Normally I'd say go for what suits you best. But right when you begin you should try to stick as close to the recommendations as possible. That involves dealing with not seeing the blade at first then turning your head/hand to see the straight razor.

Trust me, dealing with all those pesky problems is half the fun in straight razor shaving.

Don't hold it as shown in the second picture. Joel is absolutely correct in his description of how to hold the razor.

I liken the orientation of a straight razor to the orientation of a violin bow. The correct way doesn't feel natural at first, but with practice, the correct way affords the best freedom of movement... there's a reason it's called "correct" :001_smile

Enjoying the cold weather in Santa Rosa? I just had Vietnamese food over there the other day at Pho Vietnam on Stony Point Rd... great soup.

The first one is correct. As I have been using straights I discovered that I can watch the scale and change the angle as I wish. Sometimes during a stroke I will slowly change the angle of attack of the blade and it is easier if I can see the scale. One of the distinct advantages, that I can see, to a straight is that you can change the angle of the blade as you are shaving.

later,
R

Don't hold it as shown in the second picture. Joel is absolutely correct in his description of how to hold the razor.