What's new

My coffee roaster died

I've been roasting my own beans for about 6 months now in a Whirlypop type roaster. Been getting some great roasts and a pretty good arm work out, too. About two months ago, the gears on my roaster started deteriorating until a week ago when the threads of the top gear stripped completely-- during first crack :eek:

I finished the roast with a wooden spoon and lots of stirring. The roast ended up uneven but actually quite drinkable, which was surprising. I spent the better part of the next day at work figuring out what I was going to do to save my little roaster for the next 3 weeks (I hear Santa may be bringing a new roaster :biggrin:) when it struck: there is a threaded rod that accepts the gear which turns the agitator, why not just stick a nut on it and turn it with a drill?

Cheap fix! The hardware store guy just rolled his eyes when I went in to buy one (1) 5mm nut. He didn't want to ring it up, so he passed it on for free. I guess that's the tradeoff for living out in the sticks: great hardware store guy, poor local coffee selection. I'm beginning to think I got the better end of the deal.

Anyhoo...went back home and roasted up some Honduran beans I had laying around using my cheapo 1/2 hammer drill from Harbor freight. It has a little pot in the handle to turn the current down which makes it crank nice and slow-- 60-70 Hz. The result? The most beautiful, even roasts I've ever gotten out of the whirlypop and no more hand cranking. Even if it is a bit redneck using a huge orange drill at the stove :rolleyes:

Sorry for the length post aboout nothing in particular, slow day at the office :smile:

Glad things worked out for you.

Unfortunately most roasters, even the pricier one really don't last that long.