What's new

Gentleman's Essentials Wine

First and foremost I will clearly state that I am by no means an expert! Just a mere mortal who happens to have been bitten by the wine bug. I have no formal training just a passionate interest in wine and I am trying to learn everything I can about it. Here are a few tips and tricks I learned along the way.

There is no way to know everything about wine. Things change to often. Vineyards here today could be gone tomorrow. Wine can be very intimidating especially the restaurant presentation in front friends. Those who have seen it know what I am talking about. What I will cover will give you the foundation you need to feel comfortable with wine and your decision in picking a wine for any occasion.

You can never learn enough but it is very easy to come across as knowing too much. No one wants to be thought of as a wine snob. There is so much to learn about, wine regions, varietals, vintages, methods and so on. To get a good understanding we will start with regions. There are several countries from all over the world that are famous for wine France, Italy, German. And those are broken down even further into regions Bordeaux, Burgundy, Piedmont. Grapes are grown everywhere but climate, soil, preparation, harvest and many other factors go into what you are about to drink. Here are a list of some countries and their regions.

France:
Bordeaux
Burgundy
Rhone
Loire
Alsace

Italy:
Piedmont
Tuscany
Vento

United States:
California
Washington
Oregon

Spain:
Rioja
Navarra
El Toro