What's new

How many times should I try a blade?

I am about to receive the following sampler pack from Razor & Brush:
  • Feather Hi-Stainless (10)
  • Astra Superior Platinum (5)
  • Gillette 7 O'Clock Sharp Edge (5)
  • Wilkinson Sword Classic (5)
  • Silver Star Super Stainless (5)
  • Crystal Platinum Chrome (Israeli Personnas) (10)
  • DORCO Platinum Chrome (10)
  • TREET Platinum Chrome (5)
  • DuraSharp Classic Stainless (10)
  • Sharp Stainless (5)
  • 7AM Platinum Hi Stainless (5)
  • Tiger Superior Stainless (5)
  • Dura Sharp Carbon (10)
The advice is to start at the bottom and work up. Now I've only tried 7AM before and this was only once - I wasn't hugely impressed and felt the blade could be sharper - no nicks or cuts. How many shaves should I try with each of the above blades before moving to the next?

I'm new to DE but not new to wet shaving - I have been shaving both face and head with cartridge razors for over 10 years and can shave my head with my eyes closed (I usually do in the shower).

There will be some blades you will know on the first shave that they are not right for you. There are going to be some that you are going to need several days of shaves with and maybe a couple blades worth of shaves to determine if you like them (which could mean using the same brand of blade for one or two weeks). Then, of course, you may also have the experience of finding the right blade (trust me, you'll know) and then consider putting the rest up on B/S/T. One shave with a blade isn't enough to know. I think you need to work it through its "lifecycle"

The advice is to start at the bottom and work up.

I'd say this is very reasonable advice.