What's new

Against the grain

Just how does one shave against the grain properly? I've been shaving with my straight for two months now and I'm really getting the hang of it, but the other day I decided to go against the grain too to get that super-smooth shave, and I cut myself really badly under my chin. Bad enough that it'll scar.

My razor is sharp and is stropped properly prior to every shave, so I'm not really sure what the problem is. Perhaps the angle of the blade?

Any pointers as to how to not mutilate myself in future? :)

Thanks, gentlemen.

Colin

Once the blade is truely sharp shaving against the grain isn't too hard, but my skin doesn't always appreciate it. I use maximum support for the skin and I shave at a lower than normal angle, about 20 degrees. I judge whether the blade is really sharp enough on the wtg passes. On many days its just not going to happen. Some days, stropping based I suppose, the blade just glides effortlessly and on those days some atg is workable.

By the way, I can get practically just as close with one xtg pass at a much less risky proposal.

Aside of the angle I think stretching the skin taut can't be overemphasized. At least that's where I am making most of my mistakes.

It is really worth the hassle. And chicks do did it. You wouldn't believe the amount of comments I've had from visitors who use my bathroom and see my razors there.

Yeah I'd love to, but I could do without scars... then again chicks dig scars too!

Do you need to spend hundreds on a straight or would the $64 range @ vintageblades be OK?

Vintage razors are regarded as good as newer ones. In fact some say they're even better. Depends on the str8 of course.

They have different ranges made of different types of steel. ie. carbon & stainless. There is huge price differences. I'll look again, but I think they are new.