What's new

A Tale of Two Big Fellows...

A few months ago, my active quest in the shaving world was to find a Gillette Big Fellow in excellent condition...For whatever reason, I ended up with two. :blush: I believe both are from the same era (maybe a few years apart), but one is American and one is English. When I compared them, I noticed some interesting differences in their construction.

So, without further ado, here is a little pictorial highlighting my observations of these differences. (I don't claim to be an expert by any stretch of the imagination, so please feel free to include any input or additional information you might have! Many thanks to Copperhead and Merwtje for helping me with my quest.)

full

Here they are. The American version is on the left in the above photo, the English is on the right. Note the difference in color of the plating. Again, I'm not an expert, but the American Big Fellow looks like it has chrome or rhodium plating. As for the English one, I'm not sure. (I don't have a scale, or I would include their weights.)

full

Here you can see a difference in the underside of the two razor heads. The American NEW head is completely flat, whereas the English version has a raised area in the middle.

full

This side view helps illustrate the differences in the razor heads. The head of the English version shows slightly more curvature than the American one. You can also see that the teeth of the English Big Fellow are shaped differently--they are longer and more curved. If you look closely, you can also see that the smooth rings on the handle of the English version are smaller than those on the American version. The bottom ring of the American one reads: "Pat. Jan 13, 1920 USA Other Patents Pending." The English version reads: "Brit Pat. Nos 352975-6-7-363892."

full