What's new

Just starting out.

So I've been lurking for a while. I've done a lot of WWII reenactments and seen the reenactors all using the shave brushes and double edge razors and always thought it was pretty cool and at least something I'd like to try. Then I found an article about wet shaving and that got me more interested in the practice. Around the same time my college began giving out free Schick Quattro razors. I tried shaving with them a few times but found the shave to be quite unsatisfactory. I couldn't clear away enough stubble with out the blades causing ingrown hairs so I figured I'd try something different. Today I plunged in and ordered a Gillette razor of ebay, a sampler pack from westcoastshaving.com, a handmade soap kit that included a bowl and Delong Boar Brush, and some jojoba and tea tree oils. Hoping it'll be here by the end of the week so I can try it out this weekend. Is there anything blatant I missed that I should get? I am a college student so the budgets always a little tight...

poorieuser, Welcome to B&B. Looks like you set yourself up nicely.

Having a styptic pencil can be handy when you are first starting up to quickly seal nicks & cuts. These ar every inexpensive and readily available at most drug stores.

I assume you are using the oils as aftershaves? You might consider picking up an inexpensive aftershave that will calm down any burn or ittitation you experience when you are first learning good technique. Again these can be had very cheaply at most drug stores. My favorite is Aqua Velva. First read up on the pros and cons of using alcohol based splashes.

Good luck on your first shave and welcome to B&B!

Welcome to B&B. The shaving supplies you purchaes will work just fine. Make sure you watch Mantics videos and practice, practice, practice.