What's new

Newb Checking In.

Hello Everyone,

I am totally new to DE shaving, I stumbled across the site while searching for a more economical way of shaving from the Fusion I use currently. I have done some reading, and I wanted to start out with a Red Tip SS, as my first razor but came across an ebay deal that I could not pass up. I was able to pick up a lot of 3 razors, a Gillette 1969 Three-Piece Tech, Gem Micromatic, and Gillette 1956 Blue Tip Super Speed for $12 shipped. Which razor do you guys recommend I try first? I am planning on pairing the razors with some Red Israeli blades and Col Conk Lime soap from West Coast Shaving. Are there any suggestions that you guys have for a newbie? As I learn more about this new hobby I intend to share my experiences here with the BB community.

Thanks,
Aakash

Aakash, Welcome to B&B, we're glad to have you aboard. Sounds to me like you've made a couple very nice selections to start with. What are you using for a brush?

Advice, go slow, little to know pressure and keep an eye on your blade angle.

Enjoy!!!

Welcome glad you found out little clubhouse...

I know nothing about the blue tip.. the Tech is a good mild shaver. Might be nice to start with. The Micromatic would be my favorite but then again I use almost nothing but the SE razors. I am sure others will cruise through to offer there thoughts... The will very. and all be very good..

Fuzzy

As for a brush, I not yet purchased one. My uncle is coming from India this weekend and I sent him an email to bring along a shaving brush and a variety of soaps. So we'll see what arrives soon. :) I am excited to have everything arrive and get my face wet! I'll post my progress in this thread as my adventure continues.