What's new

Aloe Vera For Razor Burn?

I have been wetshaving for about 6 months and continue to experience razor burn/razor bumps, mainly on my lower neck area. Has anyone tried aloe vera gel to provide relief? If so, I would be curious to know how it worked. Thanks!

Aloe Vera gel is without doubt, one of my favourite products. I used to suffer terribly from razor burn and ingrown hairs. After experimenting, I would almost always get irritation. I started using a natural exfoliating scrub the night before a shave, and used aloe vera gel as a face pack before bed. This has improved my skin immensely! I also use it as an after shave balm with added tea tree oil. Superb stuff. Cannot fault it. I have also tried using it as a shaving gel, and experienced slick, smooth shaves every time. When you consider how cheap it is compared to other "shave specific" products, it's well worth having a tube in the bathroom.:001_smile

I feel like I've tried everything from Witch Hazel to specific products made for razor burn and nothing does the trick. While some of these products have reduced the burn and redness that comes along with it, nothing has completely eliminated it. Do you believe this will help to the point of eliminating the redness? Any other tricks or advice would be appreciated.

seriously, I probably have the most sensitive skin n the planet, and didn't shave for nearly 20 years on account of it. I've tried probably every sensitive skin product and ingrown hair treatment out there, and none comes close for iliminating razor burn in my experience. It's cheap enough to try at least once. Try using it at night after a shower or facial scrub. Works wonders!

What type of prep, soap,cream,razor, and blades are you using? How many passes and in which directions? All of theses areas if not handled well could contribute to the dreaded B&B(burn and bumps!).

Fill us in so that we can provide some meaningful assistance.

marty