What's new

Advice on new shotgun?

A lot of people here seem to be knowledgeable in just about anything. Im sure we have some trap/hunters here.

Im looking for a shotgun. I really like shooting trap and may try turkey/water fowl hunting this year (i just got my hunters safety license).

Im looking to spend around 500-1000 dollars(prefer to spend about 500).
One problem is that im left handed.
Im currently looking at browning because they have the bottom ejection.
Also Benelli and Franchi(yes i know Benelli and Franchi are owned by Berretta) and Remington.

Any suggestions? (or should I direct my question to a more specialized forum such as a gun forum) :001_smile
Thanks for the help

~Brian

I'm no real expert on trap shooting, as some others may be, but since you mentioned the Browning BPS...it is a good gun. My friend has one, and he loves it because it operates smoothly, and since he's a southpaw, the bottom ejector doesn't interfere with his sight.

You're going to have a hard time finding a dedicated trap gun for under 1k. And you're not going to be able to find a gun that handles both waterfowl/turkey hunting and trap particularly well. However, for a first gun and one to find what you like, you can find a decent compromise. Really you should decide on your preferred action type. I'll run briefly through the choices and make suggestions where I see fit: