What's new

Most aggressive razor?

I've been lurking on here on and off for a couple of years mostly when I'm looking to add to the collection.

anyway

I've been shaving for a couple of years now with a Gillette Slim set wide open at 9 and feather blades, and was on here looking to pick up a second slim and some more feather's (cottonblossomcrafts no longer lists them) and got to wondering if there's anything else to try.

Are the slants that aggressive? Any suggestions?

I do already have some straights as well as a DE straight (the kind you put half a DE blade in).

I always thought my Muhle R89 and Gem Micromatic were aggressive.I've just completed a shave with an Ever Ready razor from the early 1900s,and boy does the beast require concentration.:eek: It has fearsome blade exposure and requires a totally different angle than my Gem's. The result of the shave was excellent with only two weepers,but it took a lot of experimentation to get the angle right.First time I've sweated during a shave.Makes a Roll's Razor feel like a Mach 3.:biggrin::001_smile Of course I will use the razor again.:rolleyes::wink:

I use a shavette straight, the kind you but the broke blade in, but usually get the full length blade for it. I think my micromatic is fairly aggressve, but not too bad to use. I love it. You might pick up one of those to try.

Merkur Slant and the Muhle come to mind as very aggressive razors. For vintage, a lot of folks say the Barbasol razors are pretty aggressive.

Caveat: Just what I've read; haven't used these razors myself.

I think of agressive in terms of how harshly the blade addresses the skin. I recently bought a slant - it is not so much agressive as requiring precision and concentration. The blade exposure is such that an error will have nasty consequences. I have used a fatboy on 9 and it is different from a slant and does seem more agressive IMO.

I have just ordered a Parker - these are said to be agressive in some reviews - I will find out soon.