What's new

Hiking boots

My old Timberlands have just about had it. Do any hikers on the forum have any recommendations for great hiking boots?

Southern California now but I was born in Conneticut and lived in Maine as a kid. I really want to do my first long hike with the Appalachian trail. Can you recommend any particular book over another?

Hi Tech makes a line of police boot that would work well for hiking I think. Gortex and all that good stuff. I used to wear them during S. Dakota winters and they kept me toasty and comfy. See here for one example of their boot. They sell other varieties as well.

Not a specific recommendation - but then again everyone's foot is different - here's the current version of the guide that I've been using when buying boots for the last 20 years or so.

Southern California now but I was born in Conneticut and lived in Maine as a kid. I really want to do my first long hike with the Appalachian trail. Can you recommend any particular book over another?

Long Distance Hiking: Lessons from the Appalachian Trail by Roland Mueser. There are a good number of books about the Appalachian Trail and how to best hike it but this is the best one I've seen thus far. Here's a link to buy it if you'd like:
http://www.amazon.com/Long-Distance-Hiking-Lessons-Appalachian-Trail/dp/0070444587

I'm not a hiker, but I did need to get a good quality pair of safety boots for work.

I went to a Red Wing store, and now I'm wearing the most comfortable pair of shoes I've ever owned in my life. My co-workers all thought I was crazy for spending $165 on a pair of shoes (with custom-molded orthotic insoles) but I get the last laugh because now MY FEET FEEL GOOD.

Their shoes are excellent, and come with a lifetime guarantee. Free "tune-ups" forever (clean, shine, protect, laces, and minor repairs.)