Thread: Deciding between Gillette Sensor and Sensor Excel

Default Deciding between Gillette Sensor and Sensor Excel

Hi,
    I have been using the Schick Xtreme 3 disposable razor for 2-3 yrs now. Thier longivity is very good and I can easily use one disposable razor a month. However, I'm beginning to notice that the shave is not quite good, while by early evening, enough hair accumulated to merit an additional shave (I'm talking about a period of 7-9 hrs from my morning shave). Additionally, I've becomoe more competent about razor thanks to this forum.
    Counter intuitively, I'm not yet ready to upgrade to DE razors. I simply do not have the time or the bathroom space for the setup; nontheless, it is of no doubt that it will be my goal to shave with a DE razor once I move out.

I have dicided to upgrade (technologically downgrade?) to the Gillette Sensor or Sensor Excel cartridge razors. My initial choice was Mach3 Turbo, but I noticed much more satisfaction and positive review with the Sensor/Sensor Excel line od double blade razors throughout this board.

My question is the following:
    What is better, Gillette Sensor or Gillette Sensor Excel?
    I did notice some posts that the Sensor razors are more "old school". But it might be part of the trend that everything newer must be worse, while 3-4-5 razors are simply rediculous, hence everything older must be better???

I mean isn't the difference between the Sensor and Sensor Excel is similar to the difference between the Mach3 and Mach3 Turbo?
    I just want to make the right purchase and I trust u guys as you know shaving.