What's new

Another addiction on its way...

I have been using a brush and shaving soaps for several years now. Simply happened upon a brush and soap in, I think, The Body Shop at the mall when I was 18 or so and thought it was a novel idea. Plus, I never really liked the overly fake menthol zing of most out of the can shaving creams.

Over time I have gathered a little collection of shaving soaps and my folks bought me a Taylor of Old Bond Street imitation badger brush on a trip to London. I always thought the next step would be finding myself a nice vintage razor to shave with (been using a Mach3).

Got on-line, started looking around, and came upon the world of safety razors, all these blogs, people's reviews...etc.... Uh-oh! I knew another addiction was on the way!!!

I have been furiously reading reviews and trying to decide what will be my first double edge razor. I have now officially gotten myself stalled with indecision!

So, just wanted to say "Hello" and commiserate about another new addiction... :001_rolle

(FYI - I think I am going to grab a Merkur HD and keep my eyes open for an old Gillette Tech and/or Super Speed. Plus, I love the Blue Star Lady Gillettes. Looks like I am going to drag my girlfriend down with me!)

Oh, just thought of one other tidbit I thought I would add:
I started using a Tea Tree/Vitamin E oil combo for a cold sore I had a while back. After that passed I got used to using a splash of this as an aftershave. Just a dab on my wet hands rubbed onto my face is GREAT! I no have to special order it since my local store only sometimes carries it. Sure there are other brands out there, but I think the one I use is called "Derma-e Tea tree vitamin E oil".

And thanks Gabriel, noticed the buy/sell/trade forum, I'll have to check it out!

My advice for what it is worth is to go straight to the Top.
Buy a Merkur Vision.
I have used several DE razors and this one is the best.