What's new

I prefer small brushes.

There are many things in this world which I prefer to be large.:lol: But I have recently decided that shaving brushes are not one of them.

recently, I swapped brushes with my dad because he was complaining a bit about his large brush. So I gave him the smaller brush I have been using. Both are Vulfix brushes. I think mine might have been the smallest one they made, and his (which I now have) would be one of the bigger ones.

I wouldn't mind buying a new, smallish brush. But from what maker? And where? And how much will I pay?

Any advice from folks here would be greatly appreciated.

Small brushes are my go to, the Rooney 1-1 and 3-1 supers are pretty hard to beat. Vintage blades sells them around $80 shipped.

Dave

I hope you didn't miss the B&B LE 2008; a 20.5 mm knot with short hair. :cool: Savile has an 18 mm knot size. There is a review of this on B&B. I'm not a fan of large brushes either. :eek:

I have no experience at all with Rooney, but I am very happy with my Savile Row 3118 and 3318 silvertip brushes. A quality brush for around $75. I also have two Vulfix 2233 brushes. At 3-3/4", that's about as large as I like 'em.

Dave

:w00t::em2100:You might think about getting into the 10th and last Carnival Contest. The prize is a beautiful LE 2008 brush with a knot size of 20.5 mm and a handle size of about 55 mm long. This brush has a smaller knot size than the Rooney 1, which is 22 mm and a handle size of 48 mm long. The Sevile 3118 is smaller than both of these brushes. Good luck.

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
What sort of performance do you want out of your small bursh? Do you want a soap bursh or a cream bursh, and do you face-lather with your bursh?

Subject to your answers, my starting point would be a Rooney Beehive.