When checking out at QED, does anyone else have a warning about their security certificate? Is this an Internet Explorer 7 thing?
When checking out at QED, does anyone else have a warning about their security certificate? Is this an Internet Explorer 7 thing?
I have not been on that site in years. I would not trust Charles to update his security. Calling is your best bet.
This is the same cert he has had for a long time. Most websites buy a cert for each webserver or domain name (unless you have a wildcard cert). The QED order form uses a cert provided by the web hosting company, which does not have the qedusa.com domain name tied to it. The certificate is also generated by the webhosting company and not a standard CA. It might not be as secure as a site using a verisign cert, but it is much more secure than a clear-text connection.
- Robert -
I had an order all typed up last month, when I tried to finish up, I got a security warning also. I have a Mac with Safari. I bailed. I wish QED would fix this, as I have some stuff I want to buy!
I get that same security certificate warning every time. Finally, I quit trying and just call Charles for his orders. His number is on his website somewhere.
--James
[COLOR="Navy"]"Rich," the Old Man said dreamily, "is not baying after what you can't have. Rich is having the time to do what you want to do. Rich is a little whiskey to drink and some food to eat and a roof over your head and a fish pole and a boat and a gun and a dollar for a box of shells. Rich is not owing any money to anybody, and not spending what you haven't got." Robert Ruark[/COLOR]
I emailed him to give him the heads-up regarding this issue. He told me to ignore the warning and order. So we'll see.
If you have ordered from Charles in the past, he will have your account info. I just send him an email requesting the items I would like him to send to me and he charges my account.
Cheers,
Bob
I don't want to be a millionaire, I just want to live like one. - Dean Martin
Shaving Collection
The "56"
Veteran of the Great Irisch Moos Campaign of 2008-9
Proud Member of the Eagle Group Buy of 2010
Soap For Hope is the Key - 2011.
3017'ers Know How To Get Loaded
That site is dangerous in more than one way!![]()
I'd just call him...he's a real joy to talk to.
-David, but everybody calls me Dave
I wouldn't worry about the certificate. Worry about all of the products he offers, the great prices and what they will do to your credit card!![]()
- Robert -
I wouldn't worry about it. I doubt there's someone waiting to pounce on customers to a completely unknown (outside the small shaving community) site that probably does minimal business on the grand scale of e-commerce.
Bookmarks