What's new

Shavex - Surprise Surprise!!!

Gaurav,

This might not be the place to ask, but do Alum bars wear down with time?

Another words, when wetting them and applying them to the face, how long should one expect to see an Alum bar last with daily use?

-joedy

Joedy said:
Gaurav,

Another words, when wetting them and applying them to the face, how long should one expect to see an Alum bar last with daily use?

-joedy

It is a cosumable... I can't answer about the duration though, I've been using mine for about two months and can tell it is smaller, but only slightly.

Joedy said:
Gaurav,

-joedy

If you keep it dry between uses, a standard 100g alum bar will last for years.

Suzuki said:
If you keep it dry between uses, a standard 100g alum bar will last for years.

Have you owned an alum block for years? I just wonder what your expertise is in this area?

If the alum is used everyday, rubbed on your face, leaving behind some of itself, it will wear down. Maybe even crack into smaller pieces.

The only info I found on how long an alum block will last;
3.5 oz. block/6-12 months (depending on use)

Of course "depending on use" leaves a huge ? as to what the answer actually is. :glare:

This post is somewhat troubling to me -on one hand we have a vendor who is hawking his wares on our site.
We meet him with tons of criticism which he then applies to his product.
We then criticize him again for then doing such.

A few observations not directed at any one person on the B&B!

This man obviously is writing his post with English as not his primary means of communication.

Receiving fairly harsh and somewhat mocking comments being directed at him,he has shown a commendable amount of respect and restraint in his replies.I would characterize his conduct as gentlemanly.

He claims to be a wet shaver.Thats what we are here for right?

Alum is a consumable product- perhaps his processing does make a difference-I don't know!