What's new

Clothing Advice

I will be graduating from college in about 2 weeks. I got my degree in paralegal studies and will sit for the federal exam in September. I am setting up interviews with some law firms and I need to know what to wear to the interview. My problem is that I do not have a suit and as I have been a student I do not have to funds to buy a suit right now. I do have a pair of black slacks that I can wear and I could buy a sport coat but I do not know what color to get. I know that I should dress as best as I can for an interview so what color sport coat would be acceptable for interviews at a prosective Law Firm?

I will be graduating from college in about 2 weeks. I got my degree in paralegal studies and will sit for the federal exam in September. I am setting up interviews with some law firms and I need to know what to wear to the interview. My problem is that I do not have a suit and as I have been a student I do not have to funds to buy a suit right now. I do have a pair of black slacks that I can wear and I could buy a sport coat but I do not know what color to get. I know that I should dress as best as I can for an interview so what color sport coat would be acceptable for interviews at a prosective Law Firm?

I would suspect that for a law firm and as a potential new-hire, the more conservative the better.... navy or black... as close a match to the pants as possible... you don't want (IMHO) your attire to stand out and you don't want it to appear mismatched (ie: not an actually suit). Defintely, keep the tie subdued and the shirt white or light blue. My 2c.
oh, and for God-sake... NO WHITE SOCKS. :biggrin: