What's new

Military Shave Routines?

Hey fellas, new to the site and stumbled upon this part of the forums.

First off, I am new to safety razors, brushes, lather etc. I have been using Mach 3s and Pro Glides my whole adult life. This is my first week shaving with the good stuff and I am still trying not to be bad at it.

With that being said, I am noticing a lot of "pre shave" posts out there recommending a hot towel wrap to help your beard absorb water and make the shave better. I am currently on my 3rd ship active duty and anyone else who has been on a ship knows a few things:

1. You have better things to do with your time than spend ~10 minutes setting up for your shave every morning
2. If you don't have better things to do with your time, you still don't have anywhere good to put these wet towels.
3. There are other people waiting to use the sink. You are going to get yourself hurt.

Other than taking a hot shower, using the pre shave oil/cream etc, does anyone have a good routine that helps prepare for a great shave in the morning?

Welcome to the B&B forums. If you are crushed on time (been there, done that), a mild razor will be a faster shave.

Sent via mobile - Chris

I definitely have 5 minutes to shave, but the towel isn't really practical for me. The only place I could possibly pull that off is at home. Even when I am on the ship, I still have my brush, lather, and safety razor. Just looking for an alternative to looking like a total Hollywood diva!

Last edited:
Haha. You will have to forgive me for serving in a different era. I would say hot showers are available 71% of the time. Ridiculous I know.