What's new

First restoration came out "JUSTRITE"

I have begun to acquire a few nice Straight Razors. I am really enjoying using, honing and stropping them to achieve a DFS. There is something about using hot steel early in the morning with a fine soap that just sets my day off right. A couple of the blades I have also have a few minor cosmetic issues (scale, rust, pitting, etc.) and a couple just have scales that I really don't care for. I have decided to dabble in the art of restoration. I am pretty comfortable in a workshop as a mechanic by trade and none of the required tools are a mystery to me. Now, seeing as how I really don't feel like destroying a perfectly good vintage razor due to my lack of skill (or blatant ignorance, whichever you like) I decided to pick up a sacrificial lamb as my first restoration project. I picked up this "JUSTRITE" for about $20. Not a bad deal for a no name blade. I liked the scales and figured the blade was not in that bad of shape.

$IMG_1552.jpg

This is how the razor came to me fresh out of the mail call. A picture is worth a thousand words but those words did not describe how bad the condition of the blade really was. I do not blame the seller as it appears the condition worsened after the initial sales pictures were taken. Besides, this is skill development project so no harm done.

$IMG_1558.jpg
$IMG_1559.jpg

Next I disassembled the razor and realized just how bad the blade was. I also noted that this is actually a German Steel blade that the Miller & Co. just put there name on. There is corrosion and pitting on the blade and quite a bit of active red rust on the tang. Also, the scales were useless. Cheap plastic, warped and cracked. So, what started as a simple clean, polish and reassemble has quickly become a full blown restore.

$IMG_1560.jpg$IMG_1561.jpg