What's new

A guy gets what he pays for: Wacker Jungmeister 7/8

I thought I'd post my new acquisition yesterday but to qualify myself first (or better yet put myself in my place) I have only been using straights less than two months. I found it hugely helpful though when I read posts others had added to the forum on blades I was considering purchasing so I hope I can do the same for someone else. Just take into consideration I'm a rookie which I guess is obvious as I originally posted this in the safety razor section so my apologies for duplication in advance.

Originally I started with a vintage Union Cutlery 5/8 from Whippeddog.com after which I bought a new TI Le Canadien 5/8 shortly after from Fendrihan's in Toronto when I knew I would be sticking with wet shaves.

I was still looking for my main razor and was planning on getting a Dovo when I saw a post in B&B about Wackers so I researched that line of straight shavers. I like traditional and I like craftsmanship and I don't mind paying a reasonable amount extra for it so I opted for a 7/8 Jungmeister with blonde horn scales at about $540 also from Fendrihan's. They say they are only factory sharp and not shave ready but a stropping with TI paste seemed to do the trick just fine. I do have some Shapton glass hones so I can touch up the edge any time I like but this Wacker shaved awesome even across the upper lip and chin.