What's new

Filling a Hollow Handle

I need to fill a brush handle before installing a knot, and I'd like advice on what to fill it with. Here's the situation:

I had an old Ever Ready 100, but its hair was exhibiting Boar Pattern Baldness, so I decided to redo the knot. This is my first attempt at a brush refurbishment. I was able to steam the old knot out, and it came out pretty neatly with its adhesive plug. No drilling or dremeling required. Hooray!

I discovered underneath the old knot, however, a completely hollow handle. The hole is 2 inches deep, 20mm wide at the opening, and has the contours of the handle, which is just a thin acrylic shell on a base. I want to build that hollow up with something before installing a new knot. The total volume is about 20 ml, or just short of 1/8 cup, so I'm looking at about 15 ml of fill, leaving enough space for the base of the knot and adhesive.

What should I fill it with? The fill needs to be water proof, support the knot, not make the base so heavy as to disturb the balance of the finished brush, and semi-liquid going in so it fills the hollow before drying hard with a flattish top. Three things I have around the garage that occurred to me are wood putty, silicone caulk, and Gorilla Glue. I also thought about inserting a 3/4" x 1 1/4" length of wooden dowel into a liquid adhesive filler medium.

Your thoughts? Any advice would be gratefully received.

On the first one I did. I filled with pennies and epoxy to the level that I wanted the knot. Let set up, than installed the knot. I did not fill it al the way with pennies, just to the weight that I though that I would like. I used a horse hair knot, not so sure I like it. is a little floppy for my taste.

Pretty much anything can be used. I drop in a neodymium magnet so I can magnetically hang it. Then seal in some lead for weight and use a cork to fill space and provide a shelf for the knot.

Silicone.

Epoxy.