What's new

The 'Shovel Head"

I've seen lots a SE razors now days in pics and I even have a couple myself. I'm still learning them. The 1912 Gem is very smooth and the MMOC is a bit harsh so far but this could be me and/or the blades I'm using. I'd like to find a beautiful Gem Junior Lather Cather? I think that's the one. It has all the scrolling on it and lots of cut out parts on it for lather to go into. Very nice looking for sure. But I regress.

What makes a SE a Shovel Head? Would this be any SE razor? Or a certain design? Help me to learn more on this subject. Thanks.

A shovel head AKA 1924 is the one that the cap attaches to the head at the front instead of the back.

Attachments

• $DSCF8665.jpg
    $DSCF8665.jpg
    34.5 KB · Views: 141
  • $DSCF8668.jpg
    $DSCF8668.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 144
As troy said, it refers to a particular model which was the 1924 and it was known for being the only one where the cap hinged forward. Some say it is aggressive, but it can be a smooth and very efficient razor. I just shaved with it on Thursday and it was a very comfortable two pass shave.

The Gem Jr Lather Catcher may look nice, but it takes some time to find the right angle. Other Gem type razors have a top cap which intuitively gives you the proper shaving angle. the Gem Jr Lather Catcher has just a thin bar that holds the blade to guide you.

I find the round comb '24 to be smooth and just barely more aggressive than the 1912, the square comb version is much more aggressive in my opinion, but a nice close comfortable shaver all the same.

See them side by side here.

I also have an early GEM junior lather catcher without the bar, and it is a fantastic shaver! It works best with a very shallow angle. :thumbup1:

As others have mentioned, "shovelhead" is merely an unofficial nickname for the razor officially known as the Ever-Ready 1924.

Fans of Harley Davidson motorcycles don't like it. :001_rolle