What's new

Organizing Your Planner: Tips and Tricks

Claudel Xerxes

Staff member
I know that I have a while to figure things out, but my 2017 Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner and Notebook came in on Friday. This will be my first time using an actual paper-based planner in at least ten years. For many years I would just use a regular notebook and jot dates down on page corners or in the back of the book.

Since it has been a while, I was curious if any of you had any tips or tricks in keeping you planner useful and organized? I was thinking about using different colors for different occasions. Project and assignments could be one color, meetings and appointments could be another, etc.

Any thoughts or ideas on making a planner more practical and useful would be much appreciated.

If it were me, I would subscribe to the KISS principle. (Keep it simple s)
I have been using a Franklin system since 1986 (2 pg per day) so don't have your dilemma.

Do what works for you, but keep it simple.

I'm a Franklin Covey Planner user as well. The Leuchtturm1917 is too small for my planning/daily record use, though I do use a Leuchtturm1917 planner as my shave journal. Bought one for next year too.

Colored ink is one option, though it means carrying around pens. I have also seen Planner Stickers and while I don't use them, I can see the value. You could also flag important upcoming events with a page marker.

Claudel Xerxes

Staff member
If it were me, I would subscribe to the KISS principle. (Keep it simple s)
I have been using a Franklin system since 1986 (2 pg per day) so don't have your dilemma.

Do what works for you, but keep it simple.