What's new

did I make a good decision?

I have been shaving with DE for just over one arko stick length of time. I am still a newbie and really haven't got things down pat yet. Still way better results than cartridge or electric.

I recently got some sample blades to try out as I wasn't liking the shark stainless that I had been using as much as I used to. Cold weather I think makes the razor react differently to my skin. However, I tried a single Astra blade which a lot of people live and got absolutely identical results. Decided to step back and do further work on technique.

Looking at my options, I have 3 cheap chinese razors - 2 are decent shavers but featherweight. I realised that to practice 0 pressure, the only worthwhile candidate was the weishi. This has decent weight and from several reviews I know it can be a decent shaver.

A weeks shaves later and I feel that it works well. I think I am getting the angle right. I am really disliking the lighter razors when I pick them up. My issue is that I can't seem to get a decent shave in less than 4 passes - and that leads to irritation. I am not trying different blades at present, just trying to get the shaving right. Therefore my conclusion is I need a more aggressive razor. I think?

Being not willing to make more bad mistakes with cheap razors, yet not having cash to burn, my conclusion is to go with something old yet proven and popular. Hence I have a (very) user grade slim heading my way in a few weeks. I will continue focusing on technique

I have finished a stick of arko, am I still a newbie?