What's new

47 years ago tonight

I was ten years old when this happened and I still remember it like it happened yesterday - glued to the b&w TV with the rest of the family. I think I remember it so well because the next day, July 21 was my birthday so I was excited about everything ;-)

oc_in_fw

Fridays are Fishtastic!
I was 1 when this happened, and still love anything Apollo. That is why my grail watch is an Omega Speedmaster Pro.

captp

Pretty Pink Fairy Princess.
I was 17. I remember it well. Four years later I got a Speedmaster Pro for my 21st birthday. Beautiful watch. Dropped it in the river wah:blush:

I remember the crowds hanging around the TVs in the U of AZ Student Union watching this event... quite astonishing.

I was 10, also. Never forget watching Neil Armstrong descending the LEM ladder on a 12" black and white TV in my parent's bedroom.

I was ten years old when this happened and I still remember it like it happened yesterday - glued to the b&w TV with the rest of the family. I think I remember it so well because the next day, July 21 was my birthday so I was excited about everything ;-)

I was seven years old and remember it exactly. The race to the moon was such a huge national effort - something that we've never seen matched since then.

Having grown up with Captain Midnight and Buck Rogers I was in awe that we actually did it, we landed on an extraterrestrial body. Just a couple of years later I was working on the camera/transmitter that flew on Apollo 15, the start of a 40 year career in aerospace.

Ad Astra

The Instigator
Still the greatest achievement of mankind. Period.

Yes, I remember. And subsequent landings; teachers drew the blinds and wheeled in TVs into the classrooms ... later watching at home when re-entry occurred, a real nail-biter- even for a child.

Waiting and waiting for those three parachutes ...

AA

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets