What's new

Noob from Australia

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the world of DE shaving. In fact, I'm so new I still don't have a DE razor yet! :blush: (Not to worry, I am eagerly awaiting an Edwin Jagger DE89 Barley Chrome razor from Shaverhut! :thumbup:)

For most of my life I have used cartridge razors and either cans of shaving foam or just plain Dove bar soap on my face. Late last year I purchased a cheap (and nasty) "shaving kit" which included a (synthetic) brush, stand, bowl and soap for about $7 and was intrigued by using the brush. Of course being such a cheap set the quality of the brush and soap was not that great and I was continually disappointed at the lather, plus the brush felt too scratchy on my face. I started hitting the internet (mostly YouTube) for advice on how to create a lather but never could replicate any of the techniques with this set.

Where I live the options for wet shaving gear are very limited, but a local supermarket started stocking Nivea Sensitive Shaving Cream which I decided to try and it was much better than the cheap and nasty puck of soap I had. Then one day the best thing happened - the knot fell out of my brush so I was forced to buy a new one! Searching through every supermarket, pharmacy and other related stores in town I could only find one (very cheap!) brush which kept shedding hairs. Each time I shaved the danged thing would drop 15-20 hairs and while it was less scratchy than the first brush I used, it was still far from ideal.

Time to bite the bullet! I jumped onto eBay and searched for brushes. I had watched a lot of shaving videos on YouTube, especially Nick Shaves, and figured the Omega brushes were a good, inexpensive way to start. I ordered a 10065 (which came with a tube of Omega shaving cream - bonus!) from Shaverhut and the difference in experience was amazing! I actually enjoy shaving now and I get really good results with the Omega 10065 and both the Nivea and Omega creams.