What's new

Cream recommendation? Can't find Nivea SSC locally anymore.critique my list?

Hello gents,

I've been shaving with a DE razor for about 3 years now, and think I'm going to have to change things up. I've tried quite a few different soaps and creams (who didn't at first?), and went through a year or two and several pucks of using Stirling Soaps. When those ran out and I didn't feel like ordering any more I worked my way through the various samples I had and the tubes of locally purchased C.O. Bigelow (Proraso by any other name...) and most recently a couple of tubes of Nivea Sensitive Shave Cream that I bought when I got started. Now that I have used up all of my various products its time to start again. I use a Gillette super adjustable, usually set on the "3" setting, with Feather blades or sometimes Astra SP's. I seem to get better results with a sharper blade, set on a less aggressive setting.

I liked the slickness and cushion of the Nivea, but can't seem to find it locally anymore after looking at most of the places I can think of. I seem to have skin that is pretty susceptible to razor burn. Over the last few days as I've been out of everything I've resorted to using a VDH shave butter (only thing at my local grocery store that wasn't in a can), but with a generous slather of coconut oil as a preshave. I've been getting a great shave this way, but it seems like it takes a ton of product for the results I like.

I prefer more subtle scents, and not too "barber-shoppy". Subtle bay rums, some sandalwoods, "clean" scents like the nivea. Don't hold back a suggestion because of scent, but a warning of an eye waterer would be appreciated :) I do like the smell of coconut oil, often use it after my shave to relieve a razor burn if I don't do a good job or use an inferior product.

I would appreciate any and all recommendations or advice!