What's new

Houbigant Fougere Royale 2010

Today I received in the mail a few sample vials of this fragrance because I was very curious about what it smells like. While I know it is not the same scent that it was back in 1882 when it was first produced but I have seen enough comments about how it is THE definition of fougere being the first of its kind and the basis for all classic fougere fragrances that would follow. Once I sprayed this on my skin for the first time I was mesmerized. Wow what a wonderful fragrance. I am no expert by any means but my nose picks up on so many things in this scent. It's got citrus, florals, a bit of spice, its green, it's woodsy and just a touch sweet. I have no clue what the original smells like and likely never will but this seems like a very well crafted fragrance and just might be my next full bottle purchase. At my age of 37 there's probably not many other men who wear this and that's fine with me. I really enjoy the more mature fragrances. Azzaro PH, Guerlain Vetiver, Kouros, Rive Gauche...I just get bored with the stuff that smells like an ocean breeze or freshly cleaned laundry. Fragrances like this is what a man should smell like.

Its a very nice scent and I do think it is more popular with older gentlemen. I'm 45 and found it to be a bit too mature for me.

Its a very nice scent and I do think it is more popular with older gentlemen. I'm 45 and found it to be a bit too mature for me.

Yeah it is definitely for a more mature crowd but for some reason I am very fond of a lot of these types of fragrances. I can't fault anyone for thinking it's a bit too mature though.

As as far as the samples go, I got them on eBay. There's quite a bunch to be found there.

It just might be the nicest modern fougere on the market. Top notch ingredients. Wonderful scent.
Yes...it will appeal to a more mature gentleman. It's not for the "club hopper".
But if you want to smell like a gentleman, it's for you.

These are both in "the ballpark"