What's new

My $02

Some of you might use buzz words or phrases like PTSD or Shell Shock but some of us just call it life. This Memorial Day, while the majority of Americans were burning something that resembled meat on a grill; many of us were dealing with our demons. As a veteran I have witnessed more than my share of carnage.

As we struggle with the demons in our lives some of us are lucky enough to have an outlet for all of this negative energy. Many of my brothers do not. Some of these fine young men turn to drugs and alcohol to push away the pain. As a drunk; I will tell you that these forms of comfort will do you no good!!! I spent many years attempting to "wash" away the pain. It doesn't work!!!

As you lay in bed tonight please throw a prayer out for my brothers in arms who can't find peace in their lives. Veterans are not the only people who deal with death and peril. As a firefighter/EMT, I have witnessed more demise of the human race than is rationally acceptable.

Regardless if you are a troubled Veteran, Fire Fighter, Medic or LEO please reach out to someone if you need help!!!! Nothing can replace the images in our minds but a simple conversation might be a good start. Please reach out to a crisis hotline if you need someone to talk to!!!

1-800-273-8255

Some of you might use buzz words or phrases like PTSD or Shell Shock but some of us just call it life. This Memorial Day, while the majority of Americans were burning something that resembled meat on a grill; many of us were dealing with our demons. As a veteran I have witnessed more than my share of carnage.

As we struggle with the demons in our lives some of us are lucky enough to have an outlet for all of this negative energy. Many of my brothers do not. Some of these fine young men turn to drugs and alcohol to push away the pain. As a drunk; I will tell you that these forms of comfort will do you no good!!! I spent many years attempting to "wash" away the pain. It doesn't work!!!