What's new

New stone not doing so well

Hi
I'm new to this hobby never actually made a shave ready edge but I'm working towards that.
I just bought a Norton 4000/8000 stone as a starter. The 4000 side made the bevel pretty fast, I thought to fast. Although I have no experience with this, I'm pretty sure my 1200 grit sand paper is finer to the touch anyhow.
I flipped it over and started working the 8000 side, which really doesn't feel that fine to me but it is shining up the bevel pretty shiny I guess that good.
As I work I check under magnification and find little tiny dents or chips in the apex of the bevel. I'll go ahead and hone them out only to find more in a different spot.
I am certain the 8000 grit is putting them in, just not sure if it's me or the stone that's the problem.
Does this stone need to be treated before use in some way ?
Could I use oil on this stone or would that not help ?

No exaggeration I have removed 1/8 of an inch from this blade just fooling around with it and it's not much sharper than an old kitchen knife.
Thanks for any advice, Tom

As stated did you soak the stone, water needs to not soak in for it to be ready, these are not what I would call "Splash and Go"

I put in water for 10 minutes before use as per instructions.
Lap it ?? Didn't know I had to and have no idea how.
Thanks Tom

Not sure what you know. We all start knowing next to nothing. Have you watched any videos? Are you honing with the razor flat on the stone, spine and edge touching at all times except the flip, which is done lifting the edge and not the spine? White is 4k and gold is 8k?

Must lap the stones for sure. I have heard that Norton's need a good bit of the surface removed, usually, but I haven't had Norton water stones.

Yeah I believe I'm honing properly. Watched a bunch of u tube.
Just watched a few on lapping, I guess that's up next.
Thanks, Tom