What's new

Help choose lather bowl

I am new to wet shaving and am already hooked. I have been using a mug to whip lather in and am wanting to get a better bowl. I'm looking at the Captains Choice lather bowl and like what I see. But, is it worth the price? I do love the look and can't decide between gunmetal or cobalt (when they come back in stock!). Is it worth the plunge? I hear it really whips soaps fast, even hard soaps.

I use a bowl I love from Utilemud on Etsy. Nice bright colors; mine is red with a lavender interior. A pleasant change from the usual oatmeal coloring of lots of handmade ceramics. It has with just enough grooves to help lather production. (You can see it in my avatar pic.)

My most convenient lather bowl is one of the Turkish variety, make of copper and plated on the inside. It hangs from a hook. It is light. It builds and contains a lather. If it drops, it does not break.

I've used $2 walmart salsa bowls, cheap bowls from the grocery store, and the Fine Lather bowl. I can make lather just about anywhere in anything, but I really like the Fine lather bowl. It's easy to hold and its the perfect size for me.

The Fine Lather bowl is a tiny bit wider and a tiny bit higher than the standard captains choice bowl, and it has a handle and brush rest.

It's at least worth putting on your list of potentials. I think it's a couple bucks cheaper as well. I'm sure the captains choice is choice as well :)

proxy.php

I have this one...very nice.

I will say I am eyeing the CC one as well...

I've used $2 walmart salsa bowls, cheap bowls from the grocery store, and the Fine Lather bowl. I can make lather just about anywhere in anything, but I really like the Fine lather bowl. It's easy to hold and its the perfect size for me.

The Fine Lather bowl is a tiny bit wider and a tiny bit higher than the standard captains choice bowl, and it has a handle and brush rest.