What's new

How many strop between passes?

I'm a considerable newb to the straight world, and decided not to start with custom honed razors but rather to learn to hone, strop, and shave altogether. So far, so good.

I've noticed that my shave is much more comfortable if I strop my razor between passes. Is this usually necessary? How many find it necessary? Does it indicate that I need to change or improve any of my techniques?

BTW, from what other members have said my razors are of fine quality. For example, my first one is a vintage "Dixie Blue Steel" by Union Cutlery Co. I bought it at an Antique store, and could tell it had never been honed or used.

I only strop before a shave and that is entirely sufficient for a close, comfortable shave. If you find that you need to strop between passes, I would recommend checking your techinique and ensuring that your razor is sharp. My guess is that it is not quite dialed in and could use a little more time on a hone.

FWIIW - those Dixie Blue Steel razors are good shavers, so you don't need to worry about whether or not it will take a good edge.

Shouldn't be any need to strop between passes.

Occasionally some folks will touch up a razor on a very fine finishing hone during the shave, but this is not the norm.

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
You shouldn't need any stropping between passes, but it could happen.

When stropping, always remember to use no pressure. Unlike a stone, leather will compress. Even though you use an edge trailing stroke, as the leather compresses and distorts at the edge of the blade it can round off the edge. Another reason to keep that strop taught.