What's new

Please Tell Me About This Kamisori

I just received my first kamisori.
I have no experience with this type of razor and am keen to learn!
What do the characters on the blade mean?
And can somebody point me to good guides for honing kamisori and shaving with them?

Thanks in advance guys - I know this is the right place to ask!
proxy.php

proxy.php
proxy.php

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I love seeing Kamisoris. One day I will get one, for now though I will admire other's collections. Sorry cannot help you with your questions.

Tell you about that razor?

Sure:

That razor belonged to Kiotaka Fujiwara, the famed barber of Nagano.

He could give a man a smooth BBS shave with that razor while both were riding down the slope at the Onbashira festival, no nicks, no cuts, just pure smooth.

Last edited by a moderator:
Well it's a Henkotsu Kaizan 15/16 actually - I know Henkotsu is the maker but I've no idea what "Kaizan" means.
proxy.php

This is a very big blade for a kamisori eh?
And after a few video tutorials it took a really good edge.
I honed it using my normal progression and finishing with the Trans Ark, 12 laps to 3 laps Omate to Ura.

And man the shave's incredible, just so comfortable:
proxy.php

A few more tutorials and I shaved for the first two passes right hand only with Omate side to the face.
It's a lot of fun to learn something new like this with such a good result.

But I cheated for the third pass and swapped hands for the left side of the face and shaved with the Ura side against it.

Just when I thought there was nothing left to discover this has suddenly taken things to a whole new level!

I'd heard of henkotsu of course but I had no idea they stamped their blades "hen atsu".

I was going to guess that the last two kanji of the first part were "nanzan", south mountain. too illegible in the pics though.